The Inspiration For This Blog Post is Inspiration

Standard

Someone told me that I inspired them (a first for me.) Specifically, she said that I inspired her to finish three books that she’d written. I was flattered, mostly because this person is a bona fide freelance writer, who puts food on the table with writing and has a book deal for a nonfiction book. The notion that she needed motivation or inspiration struck me since she is already quite successful. But she saw my book and suddenly the task of finishing her books on her own seemed attainable. It got me thinking about inspiration and motivation. I used to give corny motivational speeches to rooms full of telemarketers (thank god YouTube wasn’t around then.)

Coffee is for closers.

Coffee is for closers.

Don’t Give Me Some ‘Rah Rah’ Motivational Crap

I once had a sales manager, many jobs ago, who sat in his glass office next to the cubicle farm. He’s sit in there with the USA Today pretending to read the Business Section, but really reading sports (we were in financial services). Every so often he would emerge with some combination Tony Robbins / Alec Baldwin Glen Gary Glenross motivational nugget (really just trying to get invited to lunch with the rookie salesmen because the veterans ignored him). He meant well, and outside of the cold walls of that class-action-law-suit-waiting-to-happen, he was a nice guy. The company’s business strategy could have been summed up with, “Sell life insurance to your friends, but call it an ‘investment.’” One day he called me in to his office (I think he sensed that I had one foot out the door), and I could tell he was about to go Motivational Poster on me. I cut him short, “Don’t you dare get rah rah on me,” I said. “Give me something I can use.” His shoulders slumped and I felt sorry for him. He was just like me. He didn’t have the tools to be successful in that job. He didn’t have the tools to solve our problems. The company was a scam – a very old, prominent, successful scam. Their business model was to hire a dozen people and see if anyone would stick. The even bigger problem is that they didn’t have an example of a success story to show us.

Don’t Set A Goal Without A Plan to Hit It

Since my book came out, people have been asking me when the next book will be done. I’ve been declaring that I will release two books in 2015 to complete the three part series. So, just to add to that pressure, I’m putting out here on the internet too. This will give me some motivation to do it, but the bigger motivation is the lonely single volume of The Grandfather Clock sitting on the shelf, and the partially completed follow-up sitting on my computer. I’m really excited about writing this one. The feedback I’m getting from readers motivates me. I’m getting amazing comments from people I haven’t seen in over a decade. Thanks for everyone for reading. If you haven’t picked up The Grandfather Clock, it’s only $2.99. Don’t have a Kindle? Yes you do. You’re reading this aren’t you? They have an app for every possible platform. Have a comment? Drop me an email at jkilewrites@gmail.com.

-Jonathan

2 thoughts on “The Inspiration For This Blog Post is Inspiration

  1. Writers are told from day one to expect rejection and failure before they can succeed. It’s an entire art form built around bashing in our self-esteem. Motivation is something we overlook with all the “just write” memes out there. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

