How my book became an “Urban” Legend.

Standard

Over the course of 2 days 17,000 people downloaded my book for free. Way more than I ever expected. In that time, it peaked at #3 for all FREE books on Amazon. 1,000 to 2,000 downloads per hour. Things got really entertaining when it came to the sub-genres. See, Amazon has a million genres to help readers find what they really like. So, if you’re in to suspense, there’s a litany of sub-categories. There IS a difference between “Ghost,” and “Horror” in the Suspense category. Somewhere along the way, my book ended up in “Urban Fiction.” Okay, the book is set in several urban settings, New Orleans, Paris, Southern California, so what’s the big deal? Apparently, Urban fiction relates to specific types of urban settings. Here’s a few REAL titles from the top free Urban Fiction books:  A Child of a Crackhead II (there are 6 in the series, so who am I to judge?) Secrets of a Side Bitch, and my favorite: Money Over Errythang. So, for about 3 hours, on Wednesday, my books was the #1 Free Urban Fiction download. Let me rephrase that:

My book, with the swastika in the background, was the #1 Urban Fiction download. 

A few emails to Amazon later my book had settled back in to Suspense, Adventure, Mystery. There was a brief period where it camped out in Paranormal which made me question whether my illustrious launch team had finished the book, but hey, 17,000 downloads. There’s a category for errythang: REAL TITLE: Love Me Love My Horse: 50 Shades of Amish LoveIt’s #93 in Amish Romance. Did you hear that, Harrison Ford?

This is actually what’s great about Amazon. None of these books could exists without Amazon. But now, someone can write them, and someone can read them. That’s what it’s all about.

So it’s back to reality. Selling books.

The only way to sell more books is to write more books so I’m back to writing the follow-up to The Grandfather Clock. I’m at the midpoint of the first draft, and would like to knock it out in the next month and get it in the hands of my early readers and editor. I’m looking for a few people to read the first draft when it’s done and give me feedback. If you’re interested, drop me an email at jkilewrites@gmail.com. Be aware that I’m going to have to throw in a few nuns raising miniature horses.

Wait… that already exists in Texas.

Is there anything better than this? I don't think so.

Is there anything better than this? I don’t think so.

Leave a Reply

