Rumors of my blog’s demise are greatly exaggerated

Standard

I know, I know. It’s been a month.. more?.. a long time since I posted something. In the midst of trying to finish the manuscript to my second novel, The Napoleon Bloom, life threw a few curve balls. Much of my next book is set in Paris, and I actually wrote and never published two posts about the events in Paris (opting to spare the universe of one more in-expert opinion.) The good news is that I’m very excited about how the book is finishing. I just wish I could get it done.

The reason I wanted to get this post up is that I stumbled upon a new show on The History Channel that pertains directly to a “twist” in my novel The Grandfather Clock. When I was researching that novel, I read a book called The Grey Wolf: The Escape of Adolf Hitler, by Simon Dunstan and Gerrard Williams. In very detailed manner, the authors present the case that Hitler escaped the Fuhrerbunker and lived more than a decade in seclusion in Patagonia. I don’t endorse or refute this theory. Hitler’s body was never found, and lacking total proof in any direction, I don’t have a stake in either opinion. But it provided a cool motivation for the villains in my book. In cooperation with the authors, The History Channel is running a documentary series about Hitler’s supposed escape. It’s called Hunting Hitler and it airs at 9 p.m. every Tuesday night, or you can view episodes online (like I do if I can’t sleep.) After four episodes, the show makes no conclusions.

hitler_1

Upstart cable station, The History Channel, is riding the waves of my book.

It’s exciting to see this get some mainstream attention because now, when I’m talking to people about my book, their eyes don’t roll into the back of their head when I start sounding like a foil-hat conspiracy nut. The show is good. I wish it were great. They feature investigators in Europe and South America as they follow the cold trail. The investigators tend act a little over-dramatically when they find clues and the editing is really heavy on “recap” after every commercial – but I might feel this way because I’m already really well acquainted with their research.

I can’t wait to talk about the real-life twist that comes up in my next book. But no spoilers on that right now. Thanks for checking back in. I promise more activity here and updates on the upcoming release. There’s something poetic about a Spring 2016 release of … The Napoleon Bloom. 

Don’t forget to sign up for updates on the left. Got a question or comment? Leave it below or drop me an email at jkilewrites@gmail.com. Check me out on Facebook and Twitter too. When my daughter gets older I’ll have her teach me Instagram.

-Jonathan Kile

 

One thought on “Rumors of my blog’s demise are greatly exaggerated

Leave a Reply

