Crawl before you walk… Pub Crawl, that is

Standard

A quick update… my last two blog posts for Creative Loafing are HERE and HERE. I talk about the arranged marriage that self publishers must enter into with Amazon.com and the latest data that suggests… nay, proves… that self publishing is a better investment of your time and resources than sending query letters and waiting for someone to ask you to prom. Find out why Hugh Howey says, “Self-publishing is simply a more viable path to earning a living and reaching readers than sending query letters to agents, and it isn’t even close.”

Also, for my St. Pete area readers, tomorrow I’ll be joining my infamous neighbor, Nathan Van Coops for part of the SunLit Festival Pub Crawl. We’ll be reading a fictitious (?) piece about the increasingly tense rivalry between two self published authors living across the street from each other. Nathan recently hit #1 on the Sci Fi charts on Amazon UK with his second book, The ChronothonThen he hit #1 in Australia for good measure. I’ll be inviting Nate to share his wisdom here, but only when I’m ready to promote my new book along with said wisdom. Come see us at Bodega on Central at 7:00 on Wednesday, March 9. We will either be funny enough to make you laugh, or so unfunny, you’ll laugh harder.

Sunlit+Crawl+logo2+640

No designers were harmed in the making of this logo.

My beta readers are still reading my first draft, so I don’t have any feedback yet. When I do, I promise to post a play-by-play of the emotional stages that follow these discussions. It’ll be fun.

Thanks for reading!

By day I am a peddler of petroleum products, navigating a Glengarry Glen Ross landscape of cutthroat sales. By night I assume the identity of novelist and child-wrangler. My first published novel The Grandfather Clock is available on amazon.com. I am currently writing my second and third novels, blogging here and at Creative Loafing and cursing my editor.

 

 

Leave a Reply

